The Meeting welcomed 450 participants. Following the usual format of the CMS Winter Meeting, the program included a wide variety of sessions, a contributed paper session, plenary and prize lectures, and a public lecture. Most activities and all scientific talks were held at the Hilton Bonaventure Hotel. The meeting began with **Alexei G. Myasnikov** (McGill) delivering a public lecture entitled Complexity of Computations and Cryptography. The event, held at the Best Western Hotel Europa, drew a large audience and was followed by a welcoming reception.

Plenary talks were delivered by:

Michael Bennett (British Columbia) Persi Diaconis (Stanford) Rostislav Grigorchuk (Texas A&M) François Lalonde (Université de Montréal) Rainer Steinwandt (Karlsruhe)

The Canadian Mathematical Society was pleased to present lectures from their research prize winners, namely, the CMS Coxeter-James Prize Lecture, given by **Izabella Laba** (British Columbia), the CMS Doctoral Prize Lecture, given by **Nicolaas Spronk** (Waterloo) and the CMS Adrien Pouliot Prize lecture, given by **Jean-Marie De Koninck** (Laval).

A wide variety of fields were represented in the session topics given below:

Algebraic Combinatorics

Org: François Bergeron, Riccardo Biagioli, Peter McNamara, Christophe Reutenauer (UQAM)

Approximation Theory

Org: Richard Fournier and Paul Gauthier (Montreal)

Arithmetic Geometry

Org: Eyal Goren (McGill) and Adrian Iovita (Concordia)

Combinatorial and Geometric Group Theory

Org: Inna Bumagin (Carleton) and Dani Wise (McGill)

Commutative Algebra

Org: Sara Faridi (Ottawa), Sindi Sabourin (York), Will Traves (US Naval Academy) and Adam van Tuyl (Lakehead)

Discrete Geometry

Org: Karoly Bezdek (Calgary), Rob Calderbank (Princeton), Robert Connelly (Cornell) and Bob Erdahl (Queen's)

Dynamical Systems and Applications

Org: Michael A. Radin (RIT)

Groups, Equations, Non-commutative Algebraic Geometry

Org: Olga Kharlampovich and Alexei G. Myasnikov (McGill)

Harmonic Analysis

Org: Galia Dafni (Concordia)

History of Mathematics

Org: Thomas Archibald (Acadia, Dibner Institute MA), Rich O'Lander (St. John's), Ron Sklar (St. John's) and Alexei Volkov (UQAM)

Interactions between Algebra and Computer Science

Org: Olga Kharlampovich (McGill), Alexei G. Myasnikov (McGill), Vladimir Shpilrain (CUNY)

Mathematical Methods in Statistics

Org: Russell Steele, Alain Vandal and David Wolfson (McGill)

Mathematics for Future Teachers

Org: Leo Jonker (Queen's)

Number Theory

Org: Chantal David (Concordia) and Andrew Granville (Montreal)

Special Structures in Differential Geometry

Org: Gordon Craig (Bishop's) and Spiro Karigiannis (McMaster)

Universal Algebra and Complexity

Org: Jennifer Hyndman (UNBC), Benoit Larose (Concordia) and Denis Therien (McGill)

Contributed papers session was organized by William G. Brown (McGill).

Support from the following was gratefully acknowledged:

McGill University, Provost McGill University, Dean of Science McGill University, Department of Mathematics and Statistics Centre de recherches mathématiques CRM, Analysis Laboratory The Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Sciences MITACS Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences

Scientific Report

Meeting Committee

Meeting Director:

Olga Kharlampovich (McGill)

Thomas Archibald (Acadia, Dibner Institute MA) Francois Bergeron (UQAM) Karoly Bezdek (Calgary) Riccardo Biagioli (UQAM) Inna Bumagin (Carleton) Rob Calderbank (Princeton) Robert Connelly (Cornell) Gordon Craig (Bishop's) Galia Dafni (Concordia) Chantal David (Concordia) Bob Erdahl (Queen's) Sara Faridi (Ottawa) **Richard Fournier (Montreal)** Paul Gauthier (Montreal) Eyal Goren (McGill) Andrew Granville (Montreal) Jennifer Hyndman (UNBC) Adrian Iovita (Concordia) Leo Jonker (Queen's) Spiro Karigiannis (McMaster) Benoit Larose (Concordia) Peter McNamara (UQAM) Alexei G. Miasnikov (McGill) Rich O'Lander (St. John's) Michael A. Radin (RIT) Christophe Reutenauer (UQAM) Sindi Sabourin (York) Vladimir Shpilrain (CUNY) Ron Sklar (St. John's) Russell Steele (McGill) Denis Therien (McGill) Will Traves (US Naval Academy) Adam van Tuyl (Lakehead) Alain Vandal (McGill) Alexei Volkov (UQAM) Dani Wise (McGill) David Wolfson (McGill) Graham Wright (CMS, ex-officio)

Local Arrangements William G. Brown (McGill)

Gertrud Jeewanjee (Meetings Coordinator)